INTERVIEW: Sarah Parry

grave-warnings-front-cover-jack-drewell-nov-2016Our series of interviews with the authors of Grave Warnings concludes today with our final interview with Sarah Parry author of ‘Deceased Estate’.

How and when did you get interested in writing?

Some of my earliest memories involve writing with my sister, making up our own stories and publishing them in books which we would illustrate. Everyone loves reading and telling stories – writing them down was just an extension of this.

Where did you get the inspiration for your story?

The word ‘deceased estate’ has always fascinated me. It always made me think about a house being dead. I wrote a horror story based on this idea years ago after a particularly memorable nightmare, so it was great to come back and revisit it. As I was writing, I thought about other things that people call old abandoned houses, like ‘death-traps’, and the story just grew from there.

What was the biggest challenge in writing your story?

Keeping the balance between comedy and horror was difficult. Horror should be enjoyable to read, not depressing, so it was important to keep the characters just likeable, (or cheerfully despicable), enough to keep your interest, but unlikeable enough that their fate doesn’t make you want to cry at the end. I love horror when it’s using the supernatural to represent human evil – all monsters, really, in the end, are human, and people in horror often tend to bring their fates on themselves. I tried to bring this out as well, and hopefully I’ve succeeded in doing this.

Do you have a favorite author, and if so, why?

Sir Arthur Conan Doyle is one of the greatest writers who ever lived. His detective stories are world-renowned, but his horror stories and medical fiction have the same brilliant combination of intelligence, humor and detail. Growing up, though, I obsessively read the works of K.A. Applegate, Jude Watson and Emily Rodda who are all geniuses at creating great characters you feel like you know after just a few pages and worlds you can just fall into.

Interview © 2017 Pencil Tip Publishing

